Where are all of Shakespeare’s plays set?

Shakespeare set 10 of his plays—all of them categorized as histories—in London, England. When people refer to Shakespeare’s ‘history plays’, they are usually speaking specifically about the plays set in medieval England.

Are all of Shakespeare’s plays set in Italy?

While many of his 38 plays were set in ‘this sceptred isle’ of Britain, 13 of them were based or part-based in the sunnier climes of Italy.

Are any of Shakespeare’s plays set in England?

Of the plays that are set in the UK (England, Wales, and Scotland – none in Ireland) only one is set in Elizabethan England – The Merry Wives of Windsor. Looking at the content of that play may give a clue as to why Shakespeare’s plays are set either abroad or in the distant past.

How many countries are Shakespeare’s plays set in?

Europe, Africa and the Middle East are all settings for Shakespeare’s plays, as you can see on this interactive map. His plays are set in 12 countries, with cities in what is now Italy being Shakespeare’s favourite backdrop. Some plays, such as The Tempest, take place in entirely fictional worlds.

Where are all of Shakespeare’s plays?

List of settings for Shakespeare’s plays

# in Riverside Title Country (modern)
1 The Comedy of Errors Turkey
2 The Taming of the Shrew Italy
3 The Two Gentlemen of Verona Italy
4 Love’s Labor’s Lost Spain

Are any Shakespeare plays set in Denmark?

Hamlet is one of Shakespeare’s most famous plays. Penned around 1599-1601, it is set in Denmark (the full title of the play is The Tragedy of Hamlet, Prince of Denmark) and may have also been a cunning way for Shakespeare to flatter the future king.