Who is the architect of the Theatre of cruelty?

Antonin ArtaudOne of the most influential theatre theorists of the 20th century and a key figure of the European avant garde, Antonin ArtaudAntonin ArtaudAntoine Marie Joseph Paul Artaud, better known as Antonin Artaud (pronounced [ɑ̃tɔnɛ̃ aʁto]; 4 September 1896 – 4 March 1948), was a French writer, poet, dramatist, visual artist, essayist, actor and theatre director. He is widely recognized as one of the major figures of the European avant-garde.

When did Artaud create the Theatre of Cruelty?

The Theatre of Cruelty, defined in the late 1930s, took the Surrealist approach to create its own violent and ritualized theory of drama. Artaud first proposed this idea in his book ‘The Theatre and Its Double’.

What is meant by Theatre of Cruelty?

theatre of cruelty in British English

noun. a type of theatre advocated by Antonin Artaud in Le Théâtre et son double that seeks to communicate to its audience a sense of pain, suffering, and evil, using gesture, movement, sound, and symbolism rather than language. Collins English Dictionary.

Who inspired Antonin Artaud?

Artaud was heavily influenced by seeing a Colonial Exposition of Balinese Theatre in Marseille. He read eclectically, inspired by authors and artists such as Seneca, Shakespeare, Poe, Lautréamont, Alfred Jarry, and André Masson.

Who proposed the experimental theatre in the Philippines?

Severino Montano

Playwright, director, actor, and theater organizer, Severino Montano is the forerunner in institutionalizing “legitimate theater” in the Philippines.

Who created epic Theatre?

Bertolt Brecht

Epic theatre is now most often associated with the dramatic theory and practice evolved by the playwright-director Bertolt Brecht in Germany from the 1920s onward.

What inspired theatre Cruelty?

After his work in surrealist theatre, Artaud went on to develop his theories on the Theatre of Cruelty after he was inspired by a Balinese dance troupe performance that he viewed at the Paris Colonial Exhibit in 1931.

Who created Theatre of the Absurd?

critic Martin Esslin

But in theatre the word ‘absurdism’ is often used more specifically, to refer to primarily European drama written in the 1950s and 1960s by writers including Samuel Beckett, Eugène Ionesco, Jean Genet and Harold Pinter, often grouped together as ‘the theatre of the absurd’, a phrase coined by the critic Martin Esslin.